RSS

Who needs Hamburger helper?

13 Mar

My daughter loves stroganoff. I am definitely going to try this for her.

Dangerously Daydreaming

Hot off the WP Dashboard, it’s another installment of Tasty Tuesday’s!  BF and I were in the mood for some comfort food to warm us up last week so I made up some yummy beef stroganoff.  Extra veggies and a little less sour cream puts this dish more on the healthy side.  I made whole wheat pasta for the family and some gluten-free for me.  Give in to the cozy tastiness!

What you need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil (vegetable also works)
  • 2 lbs ground beef (I used organic, grass-fed and it was delish)
  • 1 sweet yellow onion, chopped
  • .5 red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 6 crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 leek, thinly sliced
  • 4 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1.5 c. beef broth
  • 1 c. sour cream
  • sea salt to taste
  • freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning (equal parts basil, marjoram, oregano, rosemary, thyme)
  • pasta (your choice, I used gluten-free penne)

View original post 135 more words

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Who needs Hamburger helper?

  1. Delores Pearl by Amber

    May 24, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    So I finally tried this recipe. We used a lot of sour cream but my daughter liked it. She chose egg noodles for our pasta. She usually enjoys, what I call “fake food” more than homemade so I was surprised she liked it. I diced up the veggies so they wouldn’t be so noticeable. I enjoyed this. Thanks! I would normally have a.picture but …..we were famished at dinner time today. I am freezing the rest.

     

Leave a Reply

 
