RSS

Mango chicken curry

11 Mar

image

I have friends and family who ask for my Mango Chicken Curry recipe all the time. I am such a creature of habit with tunnel vision, that it is hard for me to actually slow down and write out a recipe once it has been a staple in my life.
Mangos were decently priced this week so I figured I would grab some for the chicken and some for my monkey who can easily eat two before dinner is served-and still eat all of his meal.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

1/2 cup chopped onion, 1 medium sweet red pepper or yellow, 2 tsp of canola oil, 1 1/2 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into strips, 1 tbs of curry powder, 2 tsp of ginger powder, 2 tsp of minced garlic, 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp of salt, 1 1/2 cups of chopped, peeled mango, 3/4 cup coconut milk 2 tbs of tomato paste (optional) 1 cup of potatoes (optional) ,  4 servings of cooked rice

Steps

 In a skillet, saute onions and peppers 2-4 minutes. Add chicken, garlic, curry, salt, ginger, and cayenne. Stir in the mango, coconut milk and tomato paste and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and cover simmer for 10 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink. Serve on top of rice

Once this is almost done cooking, I take half of the vegetables and mango and puree them so that my children don’t pick them out. I just pour it back over the chicken. I prefer to cook this slower than the recipe directs so that the seasonings and the chicken can get to know each other better. When it’s time to reduce the heat I take it down to low. Also I prefer it without the tomato paste and I love throwing in the diced potatoes. If you like it more spicy than sweet then try some red pepper flakes or a more spicy pepper. As you can see we just had some frozen mixed veggies with it. I passed on my technique to eating veggies from my childhood.  My oldest just mixed her veggies into her entree and the flavors in the sauce helped her bare the horrible peas and carrots on her plate.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
