RSS

Homemade banana pudding

05 Mar

image

My favorite app on my phone is my All recipes app. I have added so many recipes to my favorites that I cannot keep up. I would like to stop adding and start trying each recipe.  But I can’t stop adding recipes! Last night I used a recipe from this app.

Of all of my adventures I have never been more excited and satisfied as I was when I made my own pudding. Yeah….I said it.  Pudding. Not an Indian influenced entre’ or a gourmet 4 course meal. Just pudding from scratch.

Here is the recipe. I added a twist or two to make it my own.

Ingredients
2/3 cup of granulated sugar
1/3 cup of Flour
3 eggs
2 cups of milk
Tsp salt
2 tablespoons butter softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 bananas peeled and sliced
1/2 pack of Nillas® don’t try any other brand because they just won’t taste as good!
2/3 cup of pecans

This is the basic recipe. I have a lactose intolerant child so I use almond milk regularly. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 a cup and used Vanilla almond milk instead of regular milk. I also left out the vanilla extract.

Steps
1. In a medium sauce pan combine sugar, flour and salt. Add eggs and stir well. Stir in milk and cook over low heat, stirring constantly. When the mixture begins to thicken remove from heat and continue to stir, cooling slightly. Stir in vanilla and butter until smooth.

2. The recipe calls for a 9 X 13 inch dish but I prefer a square deeper dish for more layers of Nillas on top of Nillas on top of Nillas…..So just layer the pudding with sliced bananas and Nillas. Chill for 2 hours or over night in the refrigerator.

Once it’s ready to serve, take 1 cup of chopped pecans and 5-7 Nillas and put them in a food processor. If you like a more coarse texture on top then just put the wafers in a plastic bag and smash them up and mix them with your chopped pecans. You can sprinkle them over the whole dish or over individual servings.

If I never learn to make anything else again, I will be ok. This was so comforting. It tastes better if you just eat it out of the pan. But if you put it in a bowl or mug, top it with some whipped cream and some sliced strawberries and enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
