RSS

Monkeys can make flautas!

25 Feb

image

My kids love to help me cook. I, on the other hand prefer to cook alone, with no one in the kitchen bothering me.  Last night, I asked my monkeys to help me make flautas and they were all for it. I even had the monkey boy plate the food and take pictures for me.
I am not super nice mom. I have never made flautas before so I figured a kid and a toddler couldn’t make it any worse or better than I would on my first time. So what the heck!

Here is how I made my first…..our first chicken flautas…..

2 bone-in chicken breasts
2 tablespoons tomatoe and chicken bouillon
1tablespoon ground coriander
2 tablespoons ground cumin
1 tablespoon chopped garlic or garlic powders
Tooth picks
Cooking oil
Corn tortillas
Toppings: Cheese, sour cream, guacamole, lettuce and salsa

In medium pot bring 3 cups of water, bouillon, coriander, garlic and half of the cumin to a boil. Add chicken and cook on low for an hour or until done and tender. Remove chicken and allow it to cool down.
Shred the chicken into thin strands and season it with salt, pepper, and the rest of the cumin.
In a pan or pot, fill with 2 cups of oil and turn heat on to medium. In another pan or tortilla cast iron thingamajigger that I need in my kitchen, heat your tortillas one by one. I have seen recipes that call for heating them in oil before later dropping them in oil……not necessary.
Roll about a spoonful of chicken into a tortilla and stick a toothpick through it to hold it together. (On a side note, my best friends family makes these and somehow, they don’t need tooth picks.) Repeat and make about 20 flautas.Then drop them in the oil for about 2-3 minutes and remove.
Top with Cheddar or pepper jack cheese, guacamole and sour cream and shredded lettuce.
My diva daughter and monkey boy enjoyed shredding the chicken, seasoning it and rolling the meat in the tortilla for me. I am starting to think I contributed much less than them.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
