RSS

Bringing that Rude boy home

13 Feb

So when I am not out ordering Rude Boy Chicken or anything else off of a menu, I am trying to find the best way to recreate a favorite dish I have ordered from a restaurant. I found a great Jamaican rub at a local grocery store. I am going to also try to make my own rub, but that’s another entry.

It is super easy and you can bake or grill your chicken. You can buy peices or use a whole chicken. Bone in or out, it has been delicious everytime I use the rub. Today,  I am using a whole chicken. The steps are simple and so are the ingredients. You can tweak the recipe to your liking. My kids love this because it is not as spicy as the chicken I ate (and of course let them taste) at Jamaican Gates. I made this with wings and sprinkled shredded Parmesan on top (like Buttons Restaurant in the DFW area serves theirs.). My mom and brother loved them.

•2-4 pound whole chicken

•1/3 cup of Adams Reserve™ Jamaican Jerk Rub

•1/4 cup of Olive oil

A small orange or a sweet apple.

Couple cloves of garlic

I mix the oil, the chopped garlic, and rub in a little bowl. Just so you know, the rub already has garlic in it. I adore garlic so I always add more. Then I just massage the chicken with my mixture. I get it all under the skin, around it and inside the chicken. I slice up most of the orange and cover the chicken with it. If its really small I grab another orange and put it inside the chicken. Most of the time I prep the chicken and keep it in the fridge for a day.  But if I am needing instant gratification for something sweet and spicy I just pop it in the oven. the flavor isn’t as intense but it’s still pretty good. All that’s left to do is bake it on 350 for 2 hours or more depending on how many pounds your chicken is.

You can serve it with steamed rice and cabbage with some ground ginger, salt and pepper sprinkled on top. If you are pressed for time like me, just grab a bag of 3 color deli Cole slaw in the packaged cabbage section and steam that in some chicken broth and fresh or ground ginger. You can also fry some bananas or plantains too. Its a tasty filling dinner that requires little thought, money, or time.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
